Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway Hall of Fame class includes NASCAR ties

The 2021 Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway Hall of Fame inductees announced Friday are from two  eras at the historic track — 1958-79 and 1980-present — and several had strong ties to NASCAR.

The inductees for the 2021 class and their eras are James Buttrey (1980-present) and his brother Wade Allen Buttrey (1980-present), Bobby Celsor (1958-79), Fulton Stutts (1958-79), Bennie Goodman (1958-79) and Mark Parrish (1958-79).

James Buttrey made the best of his relatively short racing career as a crew chief.

James Buttrey, left, shown here with his wife Penny, and his brother Wade Allen Buttrey, right, are in the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway 2021 Hall of Fame class.

The Fairview native was part of nine championships at the Fairgrounds, including four with his brother Wade Allen, who was a driver in 1991 and 1993 on the quarter-mile infield track in the Pro Modified division and later in the NASCAR Late Model Stock Car championships on the high banks in 2004-05.

Buttrey also served as Scott Borchetta’s crew chief when Borchetta won the NASCAR Super Truck Series in 2003-05 and his son Bobby’s crew chief when Bobby won the 2006 Legends Semi Pro title and 2009 Super Truck Series.

Scott Borchetta, left, won three NASCAR Super Truck Series championships at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway with James Buttrey as his crew chief.

The four titles helped Wade Allen Buttrey, also from Fairview, earn induction into the hall of fame.  

Celsor had eight wins in the premier division on the half-mile track. The Hartsville native won the track championship in 1960. After that he added the 1963 championship at Huntsville (Alabama) Speedway.

Bobby Celsor, who won the 1960 track championship, is going into the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway Hall of Fame.

Celsor competed against some of the strongest challengers ever at the Fairgrounds, including Coo Coo Marlin and his brother Jack, Bobby Allison and his brother Donnie, Bob Reuther, Red Farmer and P.B. Crowell.

As late as 2007, Celsor was still competing in professional tractor pulls in Middle Tennessee at the age of 80.

Fulton Stutts was owner and mechanic responsible for 46 feature wins at the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway.

Stutts, a Nashville resident, had a lengthy career at the Fairgrounds that lasted from 1961-88. He was racecar owner and mechanic responsible for 46 feature wins at the Fairgrounds and 591 at all area tracks.

Stutts’ drivers included James “The King” Climer, George Bennett, Donnie Kaylor, Paul “Fat Boy” Ryman and others.

Bennie Goodman

Goodman and Parrish teamed up with Bill Donoho in 1953 to form Nashville Speedway Inc., which eventually led to building what is now Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway.

It was Goodman and Parrish who signed the first deal with Bill France Sr. to bring NASCAR-sanctioned races to Nashville. 

Mark Parrish

Former MTSU baseball coach Jim McGuire hired at Vol State

Jim McGuire

Jim McGuire, who coached at Middle Tennessee State for 25 years, was hired Wednesday as the baseball coach at Volunteer State Community College.

McGuire replaced Ryan Hunt, who left at the end of this past season to replace his father, Woody, as the coach at Cumberland. 

McGuire was at MTSU from 1993-2018. He was the head coach from 2012-18 and the associate head coach or an assistant before that.

Lashell Coykendall

Next Post

Madden NFL 22: Entire Player and Group Scores for the Miami Dolphins

Tue Aug 3 , 2021
Past 7 days, EA released their major-10 player ratings at every single placement, and the Miami Dolphins experienced a few players rank amongst the greatest at cornerback, restricted close, and rookie wide receiver. Jaylen Waddle was mentioned as the maximum-rated rookie wide receiver in the activity with a 76 in […]